Update on the Future of Post-Pandemic WorkSpace Planning: Tri-Campus Working Group

From: Ron Saporta, Acting Vice-President, Operations
Date: September 29, 2023
Re: Update on the Future of Post-Pandemic WorkSpace Planning: Tri-Campus Working Group

The future of Post Pandemic ‘WorkSpace’ Planning: Tri-Campus Working Group proposes guidelines & best practices that help direct the University in decision-making on the types of space(s) to build, renovate and rehabilitate over the long-term. In a November 2022 memo, the Group provided guidelines & best practices for the 2022-2023 academic year. The Group has decided to extend the applicability of the previous guidelines & best practices through the current academic year. The following link is an updated memo reflecting the updated applicability to 2023-2024: https://vporep.utoronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/20230929-FoS-Guidelines-Update.pdf

At the end of the year the guidelines & best practices will be re-evaluated.

The Group’s efforts around WorkSpace planning remain in parallel to other divisions that focus on the technical and operational planning critical to support our spaces.

Working Group Membership

  1. Ron Saporta, Vice-President, Operations (Acting) (co-Chair)
  2. Scott Mabury, Vice-President Operations and Real Estate Partnerships (OREP)
  3. Christine Burke, Assistant Vice-President, University Planning (co-Chair)
  4. Tom St Ivany, Director, Facilities and Instructure, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
  5. Vince Tropepe, Vice-Dean, Research, Faculty of Arts & Science
  6. Mary Lyne, Chief Administrative Officer, Faculty of Arts & Science
  7. Denis Bourguignon, Chief Administrative Officer, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
  8. Helen Huang, Chief Administrative Officer, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
  9. Aldo DiMarcantonio, Chief Administrative Officer, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
  10. Deborah Brown, Chief Administrative Officer, University of Toronto Mississauga
  11. Andrew Arifuzzaman, Chief Administrative Officer, University of Toronto Scarborough
  12. Trevor Rodgers, Chief Financial Officer, Financial Services Department
  13. Heather Boon, Vice-Provost, Faculty and Academic Life
  14. Bo Wandschneider, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Services
  15. Andrea Foster, Assistant Director, HR Policy & Compliance, VP, People Strategy, Equity & Culture

For questions or requests for further information, please contact:

Scott Ling
Senior Planner, University Planning (UPDC)