Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing (PDAD&C #30)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date: April 13, 2023
Re: Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing (PDAD&C #30)

On June 30, 2024, Professor Linda Johnston will complete her term as Dean of the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing. Professor Johnston is not eligible for reappointment.

Professor Johnston joined the University of Toronto in 2014. As Dean of the Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, ranked third in the world in the 2021 QS World University Rankings, Professor Johnston has fostered and promoted excellence at all levels of the Faculty in teaching, learning and research. She has forged important relationships with peer institutions internationally as well as cultivated partnerships with affiliated institutions, sector agencies, and the other health sciences Deans at U of T as a member of the Toronto’s Academic Health Science Network.

Professor Johnston has been a strong advocate for the future of nursing education and for providing students the experiences they need to meet the challenges and opportunities of the changing healthcare landscape, including throughout the pandemic. She has also supported and championed research and education about health access for structurally vulnerable populations.

Professor Johnston served as a co-chair of the University’s 2022 Review of the Policy on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment. She is internationally recognized for her contributions to the field of nursing and patient care. In 2019, Professor Linda Johnston was named a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Her leadership and commitment to the nursing profession has positioned the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing for continued excellence and success in the future.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for the nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of the Dean. The Policy mandates the composition of the Advisory Committee as follows:

  • The Vice-President and Provost (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
  • One to three students of the Faculty;
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
  • A librarian, where appropriate;
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside of the Faculty;
  • In addition, the Committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting shortly. Nominations for the Committee should be submitted to the Office of the Vice-President & Provost by April 27, 2023, via the online form.

Questions about this search process may be directed to Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar at