Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Law (PDAD&C #45)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date:  February 27, 2020
Re:  Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Law (PDAD&C #45)

Professor Edward Iacobucci has informed me that he will be stepping down as Dean of the Faculty of Law as of December 31, 2020, in order to pursue his research and return to the professoriate.  This is consistent with the timeframe that he provided to me upon his renewal. 

The Faculty of Law has benefited greatly from Professor Iacobucci’s leadership. During his tenure as Dean since January 2015, Professor Iacobucci made academic excellence, student wellness, and collaboration the focus of the Faculty. Professor Iacobucci’s key accomplishments include: a highly successful fundraising campaign, which centred around the student experience with a special focus on student financial aid; building robust co-curricular programming for students, including leadership development opportunities and paid summer internships; growing experiential education consistent with the Faculty’s academic mission; and significantly expanding the Faculty’s one-of-a-kind Global Professional Master of Law (GPLLM) program. Professor Iacobucci has also championed student issues by developing student mental health services within the Faculty, dramatically increasing student financial aid, even while managing through challenging budgetary times, and launching the Black Future Lawyers program for undergraduate students interested in pursuing legal careers. In undertaking the role of Dean, Professor Iacobucci has been a champion for the legal profession, a collegial leader, and a steadfast advocate for research and teaching excellence.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for the nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Dean of the Faculty of Law.

The Policy mandates the composition of the Advisory Committee as follows:

  • The Vice-President and Provost (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
  • One to three students of the Faculty;
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
  • A librarian, where appropriate;
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside of the Faculty;
  • In addition, the Committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the coming months. Nominations for the Committee should be submitted to the Office of the Vice-President & Provost by Wednesday, March 11, 2020, via the online form.

Questions about this search process may be directed to Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar at