Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Information (PDAD&C #84)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 3, 2018
Re: Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Information (PDAD&C #84)

On June 30, 2019, Professor Wendy Duff will complete her term as Dean of the Faculty of Information. Professor Duff has informed me that she will be moving towards retirement and therefore is not eligible for reappointment.

As Dean of the Faculty of Information (iSchool), Professor Duff has promoted a culture of creativity, transformative research, and interdisciplinary teaching. She has championed a new program for the Faculty: the new Bachelor of Information degree, a second-entry undergraduate program that focuses on interdisciplinary approaches to exploring data and society. In addition, under Professor Duff’s leadership, the Faculty has made significant changes to its existing Master of Information (MI) program to better support the iSchool’s academic mission: launching the Executive delivery option for the Information Systems & Designs concentration, which provides a tailored education for students who are full-time working professionals; and completing modifications to three of the MI’s seven concentrations, and beginning revisions to a fourth concentration. Professor Duff has also taken the lead on developing new strategic partnerships with the University of Toronto Libraries, as well as other cognate Faculties, to enhance the iSchool’s administrative operations and create new opportunities for collaboration. Throughout her term as Dean, Professor Duff has been an exceptional leader and has positioned the Faculty for continued success into the future.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for the nomination of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Dean.

The Policy mandates the composition of the Advisory Committee as follows:

  • The Vice-President and Provost (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
  • One to three students of the Faculty;
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
  • A librarian, where appropriate;
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside of the Faculty;
  • In addition, the Committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the summer term. Nominations for the Committee should be submitted to the Office of the Vice-President & Provost by Friday, May 11 via the online form.

Questions about this search process should be directed to Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar at