Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work (PDAD&C #87)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 3, 2018
Re: Call for Nominations – Advisory Committee for the Dean, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work (PDAD&C #87)

On June 30, 2019, Professor Faye Mishna will complete her term as Dean of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work. Professor Mishna is not eligible for reappointment.

As Dean of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work since 2009, Professor Mishna has been a champion of excellence in teaching, scholarship, and practice that changes lives and improves communities around the world. She has led faculty renewal through the hiring of outstanding faculty who are committed to strengthening the links between research and practice. Under her leadership, the Faculty has developed a ground-breaking simulation program that has enhanced evidence-based practice training for students, and garnered it the University’s Northrop Frye Award. The Faculty has also gained national and international recognition for the creation of a new field of study in Indigenous trauma and resiliency, which prepares social workers to address pervasive issues related to trauma in global Indigenous individuals, families, and communities. In undertaking the role of Dean, Professor Mishna has helped to shape the Faculty into a global leader for innovative teaching, research-driven policies and practices, and community engagement.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, I am writing to call for the nomination of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Dean.

The Policy mandates the composition of the Advisory Committee as follows:

  • The Vice-President and Provost (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the Faculty;
  • One to three students of the Faculty;
  • The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
  • A librarian, where appropriate;
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside of the Faculty;
  • In addition, the Committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the summer term. Nominations for the Committee should be submitted to the Office of the Vice-President & Provost by Friday, May 11 via the online form.

Questions about this search process should be directed to Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar at