Announcing the Standing Committee on Recognition 

From: Meric Gertler, President, and Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date: November 24, 2023
Re: Announcing the Standing Committee on Recognition

We are writing to announce the formation of the Standing Committee on Recognition following the recommendations of the Presidential Advisory Committee on Principles to Guide Recognition and Commemoration.  


The Advisory Committee was established in June 2022 to develop a set of principles to guide decisions regarding recognition and commemoration.  The Committee delivered its report in the Spring of 2023.  The administrative response, which accepted all of the recommendations of the Advisory Committee, was shared with the University community in May 2023.  

One of the recommendations was to establish a Standing Committee to consider matters related to recognition and commemoration, with the membership to be determined by the President and Vice-President & Provost.   

Standing Committee on Recognition

Accordingly, we are delighted to announce that the Standing Committee on Recognition and its Terms of Reference have now been established.  Its inaugural membership includes: 

  • Mayo Moran, Chair 
    Professor, Faculty of Law, and Provost & Vice-Chancellor of Trinity College 
  • John Borrows 
    Professor, Faculty of Law, and Loveland Chair in Indigenous Law 
  • Tad Brown 
    Counsel, Business Affairs and Advancement, University Advancement 
  • David Cameron 
    Professor, Political Science 
  • Annabelle Dravid 
    Graduate student member of the Governing Council; MPP student, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy 
  • Susan Hill 
    Associate Professor, Indigenous Studies and Department of History, and Director, Centre for Indigenous Studies 
  • Shirley Hoy 
    Alumna, Senior Advisor, StrategyCorp, and former Chair of the Governing Council 
  • Akwasi Owusu-Bempah 
    Associate Professor, Sociology, UTM 
  • Susan Mazza  
    Special Projects Officer; Committee Secretariat 

We would like to thank the members of the Standing Committee for agreeing to accept this important responsibility. Their work will commence in January 2024. 

Please direct questions regarding the Standing Committee to: