Announcing the Appointment of the 2016 University Professors (PDAD&C #68)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 31, 2016
Re: Announcing the Appointment of the 2016 University Professors (PDAD&C #68)

I am pleased to announce that the Academic Board approved the appointment of five University Professors for 2016 at yesterday’s meeting. The University of Toronto owes much of its reputation to the excellence of its professoriate. I am delighted to have the opportunity to formally acknowledge the outstanding achievements of our finest faculty members by granting them the University’s most distinguished rank – “University Professor”.

The newest members of this exceptional group are as follows:


University Professor Richard Florida
Rotman School of Management


University Professor John Hull
Rotman School of Management


University Professor Ato Quayson
Department of English
Faculty of Arts & Science


University Professor Arthur Ripstein
Faculty of Law
and Department of Philosophy
Faculty of Arts & Science


University Professor Peter Zandstra
Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

The biographies of the University Professors are available on the Provost’s Office website:

I would like to thank the members of the Selection Committee for their work in reviewing the candidate packages, and all of the nominators who prepared dossiers for submission. I would also like to thank the Libraries for their support in this process.

Please join us in congratulating our 2016 University Professors!