Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean, UTSC (PDAD&C #20)

From: Bruce Kidd, Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough
Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: December 9, 2015
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean, UTSC (PDAD&C #20)

In accordance with Section 62(c) of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Meric Gertler has appointed an Advisory Committee that will recommend the appointment of a Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean of the University of Toronto Scarborough.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Bruce Kidd, Vice-President & Principal, UTSC
Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost

Teaching Staff of the campus:

Maydianne Andrade, Professor and Canada Research Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Patricia Landolt, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
Lynn Tucker, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, and Acting Chair, Department of Arts, Culture and Media
Diana Valencia, Assistant Professor, Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences
David Zweig, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Management


Sanchia DeSouza (PhD student)
Katarina Konstantopoulos (undergraduate student)

Dean of School of Graduate Studies:
Locke Rowe, Dean, School of Graduate Studies


Victoria Owen, Chief Librarian, UTSC

Scholars outside the campus:

Robert Batey, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts and Science
Faye Mishna, Dean, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Administrative Staff of the campus:

Andrew Arifuzzaman, Chief Administrative Officer, UTSC


Loretta Marcoccia, Managing Director & Chief Operating Officer, FICC, Scotiabank

The Provost welcomes comments about the decanal appointment process, desired qualities for leadership, and nominations for a new Dean from interested persons. All communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before forwarding to the Advisory Committee for consideration.

All feedback should be sent to the attention of Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar by mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to