Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, School of Graduate Studies (PDAD&C #100)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 10, 2017
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, School of Graduate Studies (PDAD&C #100)

As noted in PDAD&C #92 on April 13, 2017, Professor Locke Rowe is coming to the end of his planned three-year term as Dean of the School of Graduate Studies (SGS) and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education on June 30, 2017. Dean Rowe has informed me that he does not wish to consider an extension to his term.

In accordance with Section 61 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Meric Gertler has appointed a Committee to recommend the appointment of a new Dean and Vice-Provost. The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost (Chair)
Professor Markus Bussmann, Vice-Dean, Graduate Studies, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
Ms. Andrea Constantinof, PhD student, Faculty of Medicine
Mr. Seyed-Arman Ghaffari-Zadeh, MA student, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
Professor Alexandra Gillespie, Chair, Department of English, University of Toronto Mississauga
Ms. Julie Hannaford, Deputy Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries
Professor Randall Hansen, Director, Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Glen Jones, Dean, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Professor Martin Pickavé, Chair, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts & Science
Professor Mary Silcox, Vice-Dean, Graduate, University of Toronto Scarborough
Ms. Laura Stathopoulos, Director, Student Services, School of Graduate Studies
Professor Vincent Tropepe, Chair, Department of Cell & Systems Biology, Faculty of Arts & Science

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting this month and welcomes comments from interested persons. These may be sent to Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost, by mail (Simcoe Hall Room 225) or by email to Nominations for the position of Dean can be submitted via the online form. All communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before consideration by the Advisory Committee.