Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Music (PDAD&C #3)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: July 15, 2015
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Music (PDAD&C #3)

As noted in PDAD&C #88, 2014-2015, Professor Don McLean will complete his first term as Dean of the Faculty of Music on June 30, 2016. Professor McLean is eligible for reappointment.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Meric Gertler has appointed a Committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty of Music.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost

Teaching Staff of the Faculty:
Hilary Apfelstadt, Professor
Lee Bartel, Professor
Sherry Lee, Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Research
Steven Philcox, Assistant Professor

Mathias-Alexander Memmel, Undergraduate Student
Yun Emily Wang, PhD Student

Dean of School of Graduate Studies:
Locke Rowe, Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Timothy Neufeldt, Librarian, Faculty of Music

Scholars outside the Faculty:
John Magee, Professor of Classics and Medieval Studies; Vice-Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science
Trevor Young, Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions

Administrative Staff of the Faculty:
Kevin Howey, Assistant Dean, Operations

Sarah Nematallah, Cecilia String Quartet

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the Fall Term. The Provost welcomes comments about the decanal appointment process. All communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before forwarding to the Advisory Committee for consideration.

All feedback should be sent to the attention of Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar by mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to