Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science (PDAD&C #5)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: July 24, 2015
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science (PDAD&C #5)

As announced on June 1, 2015, Professor David Cameron will complete his first term as Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science on June 30, 2016. Professor Cameron is eligible for reappointment.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Meric Gertler has appointed a Committee to recommend the appointment of a Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost

Teaching Staff of the Faculty:
Robert Batey, Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry
Angela Esterhammer, Professor, Department of English; Principal, Victoria College
Stephen Julian, Professor and Chair, Department of Physics
Pamela Klassen, Professor, Department for the Study of Religion
Ron Levi, Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Department of Sociology

Robert Fan, Undergraduate Student
Elise Maiolino, PhD Student

Dean of School of Graduate Studies:
Locke Rowe, Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries

Scholars outside the Faculty:
Kelly Hannah-Moffat, Vice-Dean, Undergraduate, University of Toronto Mississauga
Edward Iacobucci, Dean, Faculty of Law

Administrative Staff of the Faculty:
Cheryl Shook, Assistant Principal and Registrar, Woodsworth College

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the Fall Term. The Provost welcomes comments about the decanal appointment process. All communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before forwarding to the Advisory Committee for consideration.

All feedback should be sent to the attention of Assistant Provost Archana Sridhar by mail (Room 225, Simcoe Hall) or by email to