Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Temerty Faculty of Medicine (PDAD&C #4)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date: July 27, 2023
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Temerty Faculty of Medicine (PDAD&C #4)

As noted in PDAD&C #44 2022-23, the Agenda Committee of Academic Board approved the appointment of Professor Patricia Houston as Interim Dean of the Temerty Faculty of Medicine from September 1 to December 31, 2023, while Professor Trevor Young is on administrative leave prior to taking up the role of Vice-President & Provost as of January 1, 2024.   

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, President Gertler has appointed a committee to advise on the appointment of the Dean of the Temerty Faculty of Medicine.

The composition of the committee is as follows:    

Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost  
Teaching Staff of the Faculty:  
Michelle French, Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Physiology   
Lea Harrington, Professor, Department of Biochemistry   
Meredith Irwin, Professor, Department of Paediatrics  
Behdin Nowrouzi-Kia, Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy  
Sanjeev Sockalingam, Professor, Department of Psychiatry   

Jon Lacanlale, PhD student   
Denis Margalik, MD student  

Other Qualified Individuals:  
Linda Johnston, Dean, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing   
Nicholas Rule, Vice-President Academic and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga  
Melanie Woodin, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science   

Dean of the School of Graduate Studies:  
Joshua Barker, Dean, School of Graduate Studies  

Larry Alford, University Chief Librarian   

Administrative Staff of the School:  
Kendra Naidoo, Legal Counsel   

Senior Member of the Professional Community:   
Kevin Smith, President & CEO, University Health Network  

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting shortly and welcomes comments on the position of Dean. These may be sent to the attention of Toks Weah, Special Projects Officer, by email at Communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before consideration by the Advisory Committee.