2023 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #38)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 26, 2023
Re: 2023 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #38)

I am pleased to announce that the Academic Board has approved the four recipients of the 2023 President’s Teaching Award. The President’s Teaching Award recognizes excellence and innovation in teaching, classroom integration, and research in pedagogy. Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award are also designated as members of the Teaching Academy for a period of five years.

The Teaching Academy meets regularly to discuss teaching at the University and to provide advice to the Vice-President & Provost, as well as the Director of the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI), on matters relating to excellence in teaching and pedagogy.

The President’s Teaching Award recipients for 2023 are as follows:

Denise Belsham
Department of Physiology
Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Photo of Professor Jane Freeman

Jane Freeman
Professor, Teaching Stream
School of Graduate Studies

Photo of Professor Sharon Switzer-McIntyre

Sharon Switzer-McIntyre
Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Photo of Professor Steven Thorpe

Steven Thorpe
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

The biographies of this year’s recipients are available online.

I would like to thank the nominators for their support and care in preparing the recipients’ dossiers, and the Office of the Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education for their help in administering the award. I would also like to thank the members of the Selection Committee for their time, dedication, and thoughtful support in this process.