2022 Recipients of the President’s Impact Awards and Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award (PDAD&C #32)

From: Leah Cowen, Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives
Date: April 1, 2022
Re: 2022 Recipients of the President’s Impact Awards and Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award
(PDAD&C #32)

I am delighted to announce the recipients of the 2022 President’s Impact Awards and the Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award. The President’s Impact Awards (PIA) celebrate and honour faculty members whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia. They recognize contributions that emerge from academic scholarship and have fully realized, demonstrable impacts on any domain of society, whether through a single influential contribution or through an ongoing commitment to research translation. PIA nominees are also considered for the Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award, presented annually under the banner of the U of T Awards of Excellence (AWEX), which recognizes excellence in teaching, research, and the impact of scholarship on public policy.

Recipients of the PIA are designated as members of the President’s Impact Academy for a period of five years, during which they receive an award of $10,000 per year to be used toward their research. The Academy meets to discuss matters relevant to research impact, offers advice to the Vice President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives, and advocates for sustained excellence in research and innovation impact within and outside of the University. Recipients of the Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award receive a prize of $2,000.

I want to thank all the nominators for their support and care in preparing the dossiers. I also want to extend appreciation to the members of the Selection Committee for their time and dedication to the process. Thank you all for your commitment to recognizing excellence in research impact at U of T.

The 2022 recipients are as follows:

President’s Impact Awards

Levente Diosady
Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

For the development of technology enabling the double fortification of salt with iron and iodine, improving the health of millions of people in developing countries.

Barbara Fischer
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
Executive Director and Chief Curator, Art Museum at the University of Toronto
For her exceptional contributions to curatorial theory, history, and practice enabling Canadian and international audiences to better understand and learn from contemporary art and artists.

Kang Lee
Professor, Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
For sustained impacts of his scientific discoveries on childhood dishonesty on legal practices, clinical diagnosis and treatment of atypical children, and methodological innovations for healthcare and applied research.

Donald Redelmeier
Professor, Department of Medicine, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
Senior Scientist, Sunnybrook Research Institute

For science contributing to fewer traffic crashes worldwide, including new laws in all Canadian provinces and territories against using a cellular telephone while driving.

Douglas Sanderson
Associate Professor, Faculty of Law
For the profound impact that he has made on issues relating to the relationship between Indigenous Peoples and the Settler State, which have contributed to advancing Indigenous rights at the University, in the Province of Ontario, and throughout Canada.

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award


Adalsteinn Brown
Dean, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

For his leadership in health system improvement, performance measurement and health emergency planning and response, which has transformed the decision-making process in Ontario.

The biographies of this year’s recipients and further information about the awards are available online and on U of T Celebrates.