2020 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #77)

To: Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: June 4, 2020
Re: 2020 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #77)

I am pleased to announce that the Academic Board has approved the three recipients of the 2020 President’s Teaching Award. The President’s Teaching Award recognizes excellence and innovation in teaching, classroom integration, and research in pedagogy. Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award are also designated as members of the Teaching Academy for a period of five years. The Teaching Academy meets regularly to discuss teaching at the University and to provide advice to the Vice-President & Provost, as well as the Director of the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI), on matters relating to excellence in teaching and pedagogy.

The President’s Teaching Award recipients for 2020 are as follows:

Photo of Aarthi Ashok

Aarthi Ashok
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)

Photo of Jeremy Lopez

Jeremy Lopez
Department of English
Faculty of Arts & Science

Photo of Micah Stickel

Micah Stickel
Professor, Teaching Stream
The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE)
Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

The biographies of this year’s recipients are available online.

I would like to thank the nominators for their support and care in preparing the recipients’ dossiers, as well as the Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI) for their help in administering the award. I would also like to thank the members of the Selection Committee for their time, dedication, and thoughtful support in this process.