2017 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #107)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 31, 2017
Re: 2017 Recipients of the President’s Teaching Award (PDAD&C #107)

I am delighted to announce that the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2017 President’s Teaching Award recipients. The President’s Teaching Award (PTA) recognizes excellence and innovation in teaching, research on pedagogy, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of the PTA are designated as members of the Teaching Academy for a period of five years, during which they receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000. The 2017 PTA recipients are as follows:

""Michelle French

Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
Department of Physiology
Faculty of Medicine




""Njoki Wane

Department of Social Justice Education
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education




The biographies of this year’s recipients as well as more information about the President’s Teaching Award are available online.

I want to acknowledge the nominators of the winners for their support and care in preparing the recipients’ dossiers, as well as the team at the Centre for Teaching Support and Innovation (CTSI) for their help in administering the award. I also want to extend appreciation to the members of the Selection Committee for their time and dedication to the process. Thank you all for your commitment to recognizing excellence in teaching at U of T.