2016 President’s Teaching Award Recipients (PDAD&C #67)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: May 31, 2016
Re: 2016 President’s Teaching Award Recipients (PDAD&C #67)

I am delighted to announce that the Academic Board approved the appointment of the 2016 President’s Teaching Award recipients at yesterday’s meeting. The President’s Teaching Award (PTA) recognizes excellence and innovation in teaching, research on pedagogy, and the integration of teaching and research. Recipients of the PTA are designated as members of the Teaching Academy for a period of five years and receive an annual professional development allowance of $10,000.

The 2016 PTA recipients are as follows:


Alison Gibbs
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
Departmental of Statistical Sciences
Faculty of Arts & Science


Jonathan Rose
Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering


James Thomson
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Faculty of Arts & Science

The biographies of this year’s recipients as well as more information about the President’s Teaching Award are available at: http://www.provost.utoronto.ca/Awards/presidentaward.htm.

I want to acknowledge the nominators, as well as the team at the Centre for Teaching Support and Innovation (CTSI), for their support and care in preparing the recipients’ dossiers. I also want to extend appreciation to the members of the Selection Committee for their time and dedication to the process. Thank you all for your commitment to recognizing excellence in teaching at U of T.

Please join me in congratulating the 2016 PTA recipients and welcoming them to the U of T Teaching Academy.