Reappointment of Professor Daniel Haas as Dean, Faculty of Dentistry (PDAD&C #40)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: December 15, 2016
Re: Reappointment of Professor Daniel Haas as Dean, Faculty of Dentistry (PDAD&C #40)

updated_photommI am pleased to announce that the Agenda Committee of Academic Board has approved of the appointment of Professor Daniel Haas for a second term as Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry, from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022.

For the past five years, Professor Haas has shown tremendous leadership. Through broad consultation, Professor Haas led the development of a five-year strategic plan and has instilled a sense of engagement and enthusiasm among the community about the Faculty’s future. He has enhanced the student experience, secured funds for the renovation of research infrastructure, and implemented a new academic leadership structure aimed at emphasizing the equal importance of teaching and research at the Faculty.

Professor Haas’ extensive administrative experience extends to the national and international realm, having made numerous contributions to the dentistry profession. This includes serving as President of the Association of Canadian Faculties of Dentistry, President of the Canadian Academy of Dental Anaesthesia, as well as serving on the Board of Directors of the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists.

An internationally recognized scholar, Dean Haas’ awards in research and service are many. He remains the only Canadian to receive the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) Distinguished Scientist Award for Dental Research in Pharmacology; the Heidbrink Award from the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology, and the Leonard Monheim Distinguished Service Award from the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists. Professor Haas recently received the 2016 Honorary Membership Award from the Canadian Dental Association (CDA). This honour is given to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the dental profession, the dental community, or the oral health of Canadians over a sustained period of time with an emphasis on national impact.

I am delighted that Professor Haas has agreed to continue his leadership role in the Faculty. Please join me in thanking the Advisory Committee for their work and congratulating Professor Haas on his reappointment.