Principal of University College (PDAD&C #97)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Sandy Welsh, Vice-Provost, Students
David Cameron, Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science
Date: May 24, 2018
Re: Principal of University College (PDAD&C #97)

On June 30, 2019, Professor Donald Ainslie will end his second term as Principal of University College. Professor Ainslie is not eligible for reappointment.

Professor Ainslie was installed as the 16th Principal of University College in 2011. Over the past seven years, he has been an outstanding member of the University’s academic leadership team, upholding University College’s distinguished record of achievement and excellence. As Principal, Professor Ainslie led University College through a revitalization planning process that resulted in the renovation project currently underway; enhanced resources for University College’s academic programs; rejuvenated alumni engagement; spearheaded University College’s very successful Boundless Campaign; and helped to create the Art Museum at the University of Toronto, among many other achievements. Throughout his term, Professor Ainslie has focused on partnering with University College students and student organizations, and expanding opportunities for students to interact with faculty and alumni/ae. During his tenure as Principal, he also served as Provostial Advisor on Undergraduate Humanities Education (2014-Present); Co-Chair of the Landmark Committee on the Historic Campus (2014-Present); Principal of Principals (2014-2017); member of the Council of First-Entry Deans (2014-2017); Chair of the University of Toronto Sesquicentennial Steering Committee (2015-2017); and, as a member of several search committees including the University’s Presidential Search (2012-2013).

In accordance with Section 62 of the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, we are calling for nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of a Principal of the College.

The Policy mandates the composition of the Committee as follows:

  • Vice-President & Provost or representative (Chair);
  • Three to five members of the teaching staff of the College and/or those who teach in the College’s programs;
  • One to three students of the College;
  • Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
  • Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Science or representative;
  • Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the College; and
  • A librarian, where appropriate.
  • In addition, the Committee may include an alumnus and one or two members of the administrative staff.

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the Fall term. Nominations for the Advisory Committee should be submitted via the online form by Monday, June 11.

Questions about this search should be directed to:

Cheryl Gibbs
Assistant Director, Office of the Vice-Provost, Students