Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering (PDAD&C #8)

From: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
Date: September 2, 2016
Re: Announcing the Advisory Committee for the Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering (PDAD&C #8)

As noted in PDAD&C #5 on July 28, 2016, Professor Cristina Amon will complete her second term as Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering on June 30, 2017. The President has exercised his option, as provided for in the Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators, to consider Professor Amon for a shortened third term.

In accordance with Section 60 of the Policy, President Gertler has appointed a Committee to recommend the appointment of the Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering at the University of Toronto. The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost

Teaching Staff of the Faculty:
Sanjeev Chandra, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE)
Chris Damaren, Professor, University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS)
Marianne Hatzopoulou, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering (CivE)
Milica Radisic, Professor, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering and Department of Chemical Engineering (IBBME & ChemEng)
Micah Stickel, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream and Chair, First Year Engineering, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

Xiwen Gong (PhD student)
Ernesto Diaz Lozano Patino (MASc student)
Anike Morrison (BASc student)

Dean of School of Graduate Studies:
Locke Rowe, Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries

Scholars outside the Faculty:
Ravin Balakrishnan, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Arts & Science
Barbara Sherwood-Lollar, University Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Arts & Science
Trevor Young, Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions

Administrative Staff of the Faculty:
Brian Coates, Chief Financial Officer

The Advisory Committee will begin meeting in the fall term and welcomes comments about the decanal appointment process. These may be sent to the attention of Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost, by mail (Simcoe Hall, Room 225) or by email to Communications will be received in confidence and will be anonymized before consideration by the Advisory Committee.